The Children of the Sea

The Children of the Sea

by Joseph Conrad (Author), Tom Crawford (Narrateur)
Excerpt

The trading ship Narcissus is sailing towards London, but long the way the ship and its crew pick up a West Indian black sailor, James, who shortly after falls ill. To prevent contamination aboard the ship, James must stay in his cabin.

But as minutes turn into hours, and days into weeks, the rest of the crew starts doubting whether James is ill at all. And even if he is, can he be allowed to stay in his room when a violent storm is brewing, and every hand is needed on deck?

This book has been said to be Joseph Conrad’s best work of his early period. For fans of ‘The Martian’ and ‘Project Hail Mary’ by Andy Weir.



Joseph Conrad (1857-1924) was a Polish-British author, considered to be one of the best English novelists. His works included ‘Lord Jim’, ‘Nostromo’, and ‘The Secret Agent’. His most famous novel ‘Heart of Darkness' was inspired by his experiences on the open sea. His many written works have influenced numerous authors and films due to his unique narrative style and prominent anti-hero characters.

Protection
Watermark
Format
Audiobook
Publication date
October 22, 2021
Publisher
Collection
ISBN
9788726472905
File size
272 MB